transillyness: word play

In thinking about this ‘core-self’ idea, I found I wanted to think about different parts of my life that aren’t necessarily about being trans. However, I discovered that many, many things are affected by my trans status and are often humorous because of it. I thought I’d share.

The rules of this game is that the word needs to include ‘trans’ in some fashion (before or after alteration). If you, reader, can think of other witty uses of ‘trans’ please comment and we’ll expand the reach of transillyness together!

Transportation – I ride my bike everywhere. I wear a packer nearly every day and this new presence in my pants is causing me to adjust my biking accordingly. I haven’t found the magic position yet but will hopefully soon as currently after I dismount it appears that I really like biking.

Translucent are the white t-shirts that I love wearing. They show off my exponentially less white binder quite well… A guy at a bar told a friend of mine that he thought I was the cutest boy ever but why was I wearing a sports bra? Thanks a lot, white t-shirt…

This summer transformed my favorite aquatic past-time into transwimming. I shelled out way too much money for a pair of jammers and a swim ‘tank top’ so I can swim laps to my heart’s content. I look like a dork in said suit. A happy, broke dork.

My very presentation of myself is transgressive in our small city’s LGBT scene. There currently isn’t a lot of trans and queer visibility here, especially in the organizational leadership of LGBT groups. We’re working on queering them though: one step at a time.

Comments
2 Responses to “transillyness: word play”
  1. . says:

    How about Transfixed … for all the countless hours I have spent Transfixed in front of a computer screen after realizing I am transgendered searching for information, reading blogs, watching vlogs, and just becoming quite obsessed with transition in general.

  2. Rachael says:

    I happen to really love words, so I thought I’d give you a few more to play with:

    transpire
    transaction
    transmit
    transmission
    neurotransmitters
    transistor
    transplant
    transfer
    transference
    translate
    translation
    transcribe
    transcription
    transient
    transparent
    transform
    transformation
    transcend
    transcendence
    transgress

Leave a Reply

